April Fools!
8:12 p.m. - 2003-04-01

Tuesday.

April Fools!

Yeah, well, the day has proven itself true to name.

I've felt like an idiot in so many ways today...

But, I'm beginning to realize that I have a backbone. As in, I'm standing up for myself more. I think this is due to the fact that I've determined that I want to teach. And I'm going to, dammit, regardless of what I have to do to get there.

There's apparently a lot more to being a teacher than I previously thought. Oh sure, I knew you had to take some tests, take a few classes, etc., but I'm so damn sick of all the paperwork it takes--and since I have virtually no idea OR any help--in the process, I feel like an idiot. And now, I've decided that I'm going to be a high school English teacher. Well, either that or stick with the program I've got now. It's a toss-up, and I don't know how easy a decision it's going to be to make.

This entire piss-n-moan session is brought on by the meeting that I had today with the superintendent. See, the school board / system here is absolutely...ridiculous. Incompetent, maybe? Confused? Irresponsible? Poorly coordinated? Okay, yeah, those are better words to describe it.

First of all, I was told that, "You either do what I tell you to, or you can go somewhere else." Dammit, I need to go find the link to that entry and post it, but I'm just not in the mood. Anyway, that royally pissed me off, but I took the damn job, and was shoved into a dilapidated classroom with no materials, no way of knowing what I was getting into, and virtually no instruction whatsoever. Sure, they handed me a big binder of how the program was SUPPOSED to be set up, but otherwise it was like, "Here's your nine 18-20 year old Special Ed students that need to earn their GED. Help them." It was only a couple weeks down the road before I realized that a couple were totally illiterate. Oh, sure. I'll have them passing the GED in two and a half months, no problem! Do you have any second graders that you'd like to send down for me to teach physics?

But I'm actually (beginning to be)pretty proud of a couple of the boyz. It's only been a month, but I'm beginning to get more out of them. Well, two of them got expelled--one for sexual harassment, the other for a zillion reasons--so now I'm down to five students. (BTW, the harassment wasn't to me--it was toward another girl in the class--and I have some serious issues with it, but that's another story.)

God. I was writing about the meeting, and I got sidetracked. That happens way too often with me. But I'll talk about it later. As a matter of fact, I've actually got some interesting stories that came to mind after talking with Lio, who is evidently shutting down her Diaryland diary. (I'm very saddened by this fact.) I'm going to miss you, Lio. But I'm sure I'll be checking in with you at your new place. *wink*

Okay, that's all for now, kids. Ms. Dreamer is about to go chill out and watch a movie. I'm exhausted. The fi, who came home tonight, is presently passed out on the floor. He's been working very hard this time around, and it's about to kill him, I think. It annoys me a little...I wish I could at least see him for a couple of hours before he falls asleep. I also feel sorry for him for being on the floor, but once he's out, he's out. There's no waking him up, and if you do, he just mumbles incoherently and rolls over. I've discovered this during the three years we've been living together. I just let him sleep on the floor until he wakes up and comes to bed. Poor baby. Dammit.

Wrapping up for real now, my dears.

Love and light,

A.

**After proofreading this entry, I've decided that "damn" and "dammit" must be the words of the day. Oh, well, better than my usual "shits," "fucks," and "goddamns," I suppose. ;-)

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful