Cast of Characters
11:43 a.m. - 2003-04-07

Well, of course, there's me, but you already know that. In this cast list you'll find (real life) people frequently mentioned in my diary. There are numerous online friends as well, but most of them are listed under my favorite reads.

A.- Don't get him confused with me, just because I'm A. too. He's otherwise known as the fiancee, the fi, the significant other, or simply "him." We've been together for 5 years, and have been living together for nearly three. His work takes him away for two weeks at a time (i.e., he's home for two weeks, and then gone for two weeks) and that can be very difficult. But I love him more than anything else on this earth. He understands me in ways that no one else could. I wouldn't be me without him.

Best Friend- the other important man in my life. We've been best friends for over ten years, and cousins for longer than that. Other than A., he knows me better than anyone else in the world. We can understand each other with just a glance. Four or so months ago, he started dating a married man (yes, best friend is gay), and they recently moved to Dallas together. (Which means I won't be seeing him nearly as much.) He's one of the MOST important people in my life, and probably the best at telling me "like it is." He gives me the truth when I don't want to hear it, makes me examine things that I don't feel like looking at, and warns me when I'm about to screw up big-time.

Melissa- My real-life friend Melissa is somewhat difficult to describe. She's got a beautiful soul, a great sense of humor, an amazing personality, and a serious drug problem. She's also got one of the cutest, smartest baby girls you'll ever lay eyes upon. There have been times when I wanted to throw my hands up in despair over Mel, or to turn my back altogether. But I'm drawn to her. I can't help it. We've been friends since high school, and have gone through so much together that there will ALWAYS be a bond there. She's in my life less now than she once was, but she's still in it. And I hope that I'll start having better things to say about her.

Jasmine (J.)- is actually Melissa's little sister, but we've become closer in the last year than Mel and I have. She's been through a lot recently, including a near divorce and some drug problems of her own. She was clean and sober for a brief period...but things have taken a turn for the worst.

Rose- is...so many things. She's incredibly generous, she feels deeply, and when she loves, she does it with her entire heart and soul. (She's also one of the two girls that I've ever kissed!) She's quite beautiful, she works at a biker bar, has more piercings than my grandmother's pincushion, and is dating a tattoo artist that travels 'round the country in his van. (Sometimes she goes with him.) Like many of my good friends, I don't see her as often as I should, but she is always on my mind.

The Boyz- are actually composed of five guys and one girl. They're the group of Special Ed students that I'm presently teaching. I refer to them always as a group, because that's the way they seem in real life. They seldom argue, and generally flow together as a single unit. If one of them is in a bad mood, they all are. And vice versa. They're good kids, really, and I don't mind teaching them at all.

On the other hand...

The System- (a.k.a. the School Board) is something I TRULY despise. Lots of my entries are full of gripes, complaints, and curses about the system and the people who run it. It's poorly handled, incompetently managed, and very shitty to work for. (Gee, and they wonder why Louisiana is so far behind the rest of the nation in education?) Hopefully I won't be dealing with this school board next year.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful