Recommended Reads
7:53 p.m. - 2003-03-28



Awakened: Treading the Dawn: So many words to describe Melissa...but I'll try to barely scratch the surface. She's 23, an avid vegan, pacifist, hiker, reader, and writer. She and her husband, Morgan, live in North Carolina. I look forward to every entry, because her graceful nature and OUTSTANDING writing never cease to amaze me.

Respect My Authoritah! : Tattoobelly (also known as Eva) is absolutely hilarious. Count on at least one laugh in every entry. At least. She loves Lemon Drops and cute puppies, hates Vitaballs, works too much, and and is a wee bit addicted to reality tv (not to mention Buffy). Oh yeah, and she's married and is adopting her husband's son, Boy. Go read her now.

Superlemon (a.k.a. Amanda) cracks me the fuck up. Funny, funny, funny, this girl. (And it doesn't even seem like she's trying.) She hates everyone (and almost everything). She loves her chocolate (any food really--except meat), her books, and her boyfriend. She reminds me so much of myself! Click on her link...you know you want to. ;-)

Meg: ROCKS. A true Brit, she is both incredibly funny and quite introspective. She makes me laugh with almost every entry, and even her more melancholy ones have a certain lightness to them. She's deeply in love, recovering from an illness that I'm pretty familiar with myself, and an awesome trans-atlantic friend. She's currently studying engineering at her University, but aspires to be a teacher later in life. (She's as fascinated as I am with glitter and glue.)

Grouse: has always, always intimidated me with his wonderful writing, and it was only recently that I actually got up the nerve to sign his guestbook. He fascinates me with his open, honest, no-nonsense approach to writing, and can turn an entry about bot-flys into a literary masterpiece. Plus, there's generally a magnificent picture (or two, or three) accompanying his writing, and I love being able to catch a glimpse into a world so very different from my own.

TranceJen's: entries range from hilarious to incredibly serious discussions about her own illness, but it's her dry humor and witty sarcasm that are a real inspiration to me. She's a regular celebrity here at D-land, and I doubt she knows that I even exist, but I remain an avid reader regardless. Just the title of her blog, "Not Your Garden-Variety Smartass" makes me grin every time I look at it. Love, love, LOVE me some Trance.

L.A. the Sage inspires, intrigues, consoles, and can speak volumes in a single sentence. Whether it's a rant about the government, a tale of past or present experiences, her kids, or her husband, I hang on every word. I find myself nodding along at each entry, completely awed by her writing. She's incredible.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful