Sick, sick, sick.
7:43 p.m. - 2003-02-08

Saturday evening.

I'm home alone watching Trading Spaces on TLC. Oh, the intensity of my Saturday night. I've been developing a nasty cold for the past week, and after a miserable night last night I finally went to the doctor this morning. Oh. My. God. The healthcare system in this country (or is it just this state...this town?) is remarkably terrible. I waited for nearly two and a half hours in the waiting room, and then for thirty minutes in the examining room before I got to see a doctor. Plus, since my insurance situation is weird these days (quit the old job, so no more insurance there--have new insurance, but don't know anything about it yet) I had to pay for the visit in full. WHOOPS! There went a hundred bucks. Then, of course my medicine was $50, so there goes more of my hard earned cash. And I still haven't received a paycheck from school. I'm quickly moving right into the poor house. And I'm SO TIRED of being sick. I catch every illness that walks through those school doors. The rest of the faculty has already told me that I might as well plan on being sick for the entire first year of teaching. Oh joy.

Thankfully my computer is finally hooked up. YAY! I'm so happy. And we got DSL instead of the dreaded dial-up. So that's even better. Maybe now I'll be able to update on a more regular basis. I feel like I neglect to tell so much when I don't update every day.

The fi and best friend went to a birthday party for one of our friends. They begged me to go, but I declined. I'm definitely not feeling well enough to deal with a bunch of drunks. Just give me my comfy old couch and the tv...that's enough excitement for me tonight. I'm rather pleased to have some time to myself.

One of my students (the one that called me "whitey") got suspended yesterday for three days. He has been so much trouble this past week. First he was suspended for one day, then he came back with a terrible attitude. His mood fluctuated for the remainder of the week--he'd be fine for a little while, then would start acting up. He went to the office every day this past week. Then, on Friday, I sent him out of the room because he was being incredibly disruptive during a math test. After the rest of the students were done I handed out miniature candy bars, and in the process of doing so, I saw him storm into the room, grab his book bag and jacket and RUN out of the door. So I went to get him to take him back to the office. At that point he pushed me into the wall, and started hitting and kicking at me--all the while letting out earshattering, unearthly screams. Apparently one of the other teachers called security, and a deputy, the principal, a secretary, and two other teachers came running down the hall. They managed to get him to the office, and he got suspended. It was a really, really, really bad day. Thank god it's over.

In other news, it snowed (very lightly and very briefly) this morning. Of course none of it stuck, but that it snowed at all is quite a phenomenon in Louisiana. So it was interesting while it lasted.

Okay, I'm tired of sitting upright. The sofa is calling my name, so I'll listen. Hopefully more will come tomorrow.

Love and light,

A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful