Louisiana History
8:19 a.m. - 2003-11-16

Finally, things are looking up for Louisiana.

It's almost too much to believe. A female governor here, in the deepest of the deep south. A Democrat, even. I'm hopeful that that this is an actual beginning of real change. Seriously. I couldn't be happier.

Both candidates were deserving of the title, and I would probably have been happy with either...but I'm glad that Blanco won. The very fact that Jindal, the "foreigner," as I've heard so many people call him, ran such a tight race with a Louisiana native (even though she IS a female) is enough to give me hope for the future.

This is one piece of history that I'm glad to have been a part of.

***********

It's been pouring here all night, and it doesn't look to let up soon. I'm enjoying it tremendously. Even with my extreme disdain for Sundays, I think that today will be a good one. I don't plan to get out of my pajamas all day, and I'm already started on a ton of interesting internet reading. Three-Way Action may just be the best damn site on the planet. I'm in lurve.

AND, I have The Shawshank Redemption (which I've never seen before) to curl up and watch later on.

Happy Sunday. And thank god for the feminists.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful