First Day In Florida
10:24 a.m. - 2003-11-23

As I write this, I'm looking out of the bay window of my parent's condo. The wind is gusting at seriously high speed (the flag on the beach is yellow, indicating rough, dangerous water), and the sun is shining down on the few people down by the Gulf.

We arrived last night about 7:30 p.m.; it was already dark. The wind was blustery then too, and the air had a definite chill in it. After a hug from my mom, we just sat around inside, talking and listening to the waves crash on the shore.

We retired to bed fairly early, around 10:30, and woke at half past 6 this morning. I had a cup of coffee and then headed out onto the beach for a walk. It was so peaceful watching the sun come up over the water, with no sound in my ears except the water hitting the sand. A definite, welcome change from my usual morning wake-up call of screaming kids. I walked along the shore for perhaps a mile and a half, stopping occassionally to pick up shells that looked interesting. I found a tiny, almost perfect sand dollar, which turned out to be my only keep of the morning.

We just got back from playing in the ocean (I went out a bit further than my father and Alan were comfortable with), and now we're taking a break from the sun. The weather is supposed to get bad tomorrow--serious storms--and then be quite chilly for the rest of the week. I don't care what it does, because I'm happy just being here.

I'd post pictures, but I can't seem to find the cable to connect the camera with the computer.

Love,

A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful