You Can Check Out Any Time You Like...But You Can Never Leave.
4:47 p.m. - 2004-09-27

Hello diary. It's been four days since my last entry, and though I know I should feel shameful, I really don't.

How many Hail Mary's do you think a four day lapse should warrant? I'm hoping none, since I'm not Catholic (or even Christian, to be truthful) and I have no rosary beads with which to atone for my sins.

Just so everyone knows, weekends are not long enough. Not by a long shot. I know I'm lucky to get two whole days off in a row, but that's just enough to tease me. Especially since at least one of those two days is spent doing nothing but preparing for the week ahead (and the week after that, as was the case last night), because I feel like I put in far too many hours M-F as it is. Days "off" shouldn't contain anything work related, in my opinion. They should be spent relaxing and de-stressing my overly-taxed brain, whether that means spending time outdoors or sprawled out on the couch channel surfing. Or having lots and lots of spectacular sex. That's what a weekend should entail.

I guess there's a bit of catching up to do here.

Friday evening Alan and I hopped in the Jeep and proceeded to go mud-riding. It was entertaining enough, I suppose, though I get a little freaked out when the vehicle starts to slide toward a ditch full of water with ginormous trees on the other side of it. Still, it gave us time to talk and just be together, alone, with no ringing phones or unexpected visitors. On our way home we stopped by CD's, and were surprised to find a bunch of other people there. I waltzed right on in with my muddy jeans and tie-dyed shirt, and no one seemed to mind a bit. I saw some folks that I haven't seen in awhile, and came really close to getting into a full-blown argument with CD's husband.

I don't know what it is about that man...he's definitely more intelligent than most of the people he hangs around, and everyone is aware of that. I'm not sure why he feels it necessary to make everyone else feel inadequate, but he absolutely thrives on it, and it drives me positively fucking insane. The snide little "No one here is going to understand what I'm talking about, so I can be an asshole without them even realizing it" comments I can deal with, because I DO "get" them, and usually just shoot him a shut the hell up already look in an attempt to get my point across.

But when he starts talking politics I can feel my blood start to boil, and I try to head him off at the pass by saying, "J., please don't. No, really...DON'T. Don't go there."

He assured me that he wasn't going to try to start a political debate with me (because it inevitably turns into him screaming at me and me grabbing Alan by the arm and hissing that he'd better get me the fuck out of there before I totally lose my shit) but he did it anyway. Mouthing off about how happy he was that the same-sex marriage banning amendment was passed, and how it was a proud day for Republicans everywhere, and how thank GOD Louisianians have enough sense and good morals to eliminate the possibility of faggots being allowed the same rights he is.

Instead of telling him off and launching into a tirade, I calmly picked myself up off the porch and went inside. Looking back, it was the best thing to do, because I wasn't in the mood to deal with some drunk imbecile running off at the mouth about how he can't believe that someone as intelligent as I am could possibly agree with the brain-dead, scum-sucking, dick-licking Democrats.

The man has five (5!) bumper stickers on his back window proclaiming his love for the Shrub, and his goddamn computer background is a Bush '04 picture.

I know you're wondering why on earth I even associate with this person. Let's just say that if it weren't for the fact that his wife is one of my very best friends, I doubt I'd ever come into contact with him. Certainly, she and I don't see eye to eye on everything (because she's constantly being fed heaping buckets of bullshit by her crazy-ass husband), but she's 100,000 times more open-minded than he is and quite a pleasure to be around.

Ahem. Got slightly off-topic there.

Saturday consisted of me not doing much, but I ended up being drug to The Redneck Bar From Hell that night by Alan and one of his buddies. Since there wasn't anything for me to do to pass the time, I got sufficiently drunk and passed out in the back seat of the truck while Alan tried to coerce D. into coming home.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again. I need to get the fuck out of this place.

Yesterday I worked on school stuff all day long, and actually got a lot accomplished. Since I had everything well planned out for today, it went by quickly and smoothly, and I can't ask for much better than that.

Now I need to go drag my lesson plan books out again, because I refuse to spend three freaking hours on them Wednesday night. I have an in-service tomorrow afternoon from 3:30-5:30, but I'm kind of looking forward to it. It'll involve a lot of making things--very hands-on--that I can use in my classroom. The $20/hr. doesn't hurt either, of course.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful