Good Update on School Situation
6:52 p.m. - 2003-04-04

*deep, long, sigh* God, that feels good. I feel like a ton of weight has been lifted off of my shoulders.

I'll get to the "why" in a minute. First, I want to get this out.

I've become more spontaneous, lately, I think. I've never really considered myself the spontaneous type, but it seems that here lately, I've been quicker about making decisions than in the past. It's like I make up my mind (by myself), but in a very short period of time. At least MUCH shorter than it once was. And I do it when faced with important decisions--decisions that will affect the rest of my life.

Anyway, I've decided that I'm fed up. (With the school system here, in case you haven't been following.) I love teaching. I don't want to teach here. Maybe the system is more fucked up somewhere else, but another (MUCH higher paying parish) is only a 15 minute drive from here. And the elementary school is supposed to be really nice. (As apposed to the dump I'm currently "teaching" in.) And, I guess I'm just going to be an elementary school teacher. (Oops!) There went that spontaneous, "I think I'd like high school better!" idea.

So, as the system works, I have this incredibly important test that I'm about to have to take on oh, April 26th. A test that will pretty much determine whether or not I'll have a job next year. Deadline was Tuesday--I made it, but was forced to make a pretty quick (and BIG) decision in oh, say, two hours. So I registered for the two that I'd need to teach high school. Today, I decided that "Nope! I really DON'T want to do that. I want to teach at the freaking elementary school that pays WAY more a year than it does here. And besides, I did like the little kids."

Again,the spontaneous nature. I wasn't like this a few years ago...I promise.

In any case, this assures that I will have a job (that I'll be happier with, not to mention more "able to pass" without the time to study test) next year. Hopefully in the other parish.

So, I'm happier tonight. Much. Just thought I'd let you know.

Love,

A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful