Carpet cleaning and kitty sitting
1:28 p.m. - 2003-02-10

Monday, and I'm home "sick."

I felt REALLY bad yesterday night, so I put in a call to the principal at school to let them know that I needed a (ahem) substitute for my class today. I'm sure that the news just thrilled them to death, seeing as how the last sub ran away from my classroom in tears. But, being the wonderful person she is, Ms. Principal agreed without a problem and told me to rest up and get well. She's such a doll. Seriously.

My morning consisted of lounging in bed, taking medicine, watching t.v., and all the usual sick stuff. That wonderful man o' mine ran about town getting my car inspected and doing other odds -n- ends stuff for me. To my extreme disappointment, it turns out that my car needs new struts. I don't even know what the hell a strut is, but it's looking like the cost for said unknown car parts is going to run a hefty $300 bucks or so. Just lovely. I managed to blow $150 on a doctor's visit Saturday, and now I'm hit with a $300 car bill. I'm just wondering where all this moolah is going to come from. Donations, anyone? LOL...I'm just kidding. I'll scrounge up the money somehow. I've got a little cash in savings, so it looks as though I'll be having to dig into it. Nothing like bad news to make a sick day worse. Ugh.

But thankfully I'm feeling much better now, and the fi is gone to get a carpet cleaner so that we can wash the nasty pet stains that my lovely little dog has managed to put into our gray carpet. As it is, our year and a half old pretty gray carpet has a zillion bright yellow patches of piss in it, and it definitely detracts from the decor. All I can say is that if Lily (as in Lilliputian) has ONE more "accident" after this carpet cleaning chore, her little brown and white butt is going to be in a whole lotta trouble. She'll be locked in the linoleum laundry room until her doggy days are over. Just kidding there folks...don't go calling PETA just yet.

Speaking of pets, I don't believe that I've mentioned that I've been pet-sitting for Rose's cat, Vesta, for the past couple of weeks. She and the gypsy tattoo-artist boyfriend took off to Kentucky for some tattoo conventions, and guess who got volunteered to keep the kitty? Moi, of course. And since I'm such a WONDERFUL friend, I told her I'd do it. Problem is, the fi and I (not to mention the Lilliputian) have grown quite attached to the little critter. I told Rose last night via telephone that she might not get to have her cat back. I'm not sure what she's going to do...they're supposed to be home soon, but then they're leaving again. So Vesta might be here longer...or maybe forever. It wouldn't bother me a bit.

Anyway, this has been a rather boring entry, but I hear the fiancee now, so I'm off to steam clean some carpet. I'll probably update again later to let you know any other exciting news that happens. (I know you'll be waiting suspensefully.)

Love,

A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful