After the Storm
9:38 a.m. - 2005-09-25

We're okay.

There are a lot of places in town missing shingles (and in a couple of cases, entire roofs), and tens of downed trees and power lines, but I don't think anyone was injured. My parents and many others are still without electricity, but since we live in the middle of town, they got ours turned back on early this morning. We ended up spending the night with my friend Melissa, who somehow managed to avoid losing power entirely.

There was a lot of rain, but since we haven't had any to speak of all summer long, it just absorbed into the ground. The sun is shining brightly this morning, and coupled with the extra humidity, is sure to heat things up to the boiling point before noon. There are going to be a lot of uncomfortable folks in Louisiana during the next couple of days.

Thank goodness the forecasters were a little off. I know that Lake Charles took a pretty severe hit, but since I haven't had a chance to check the news yet, I'm not sure just how bad things are down there. I need to get in touch with friends and family down I-10 way and make sure they're alright.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful