Otis
11:59 a.m. - 2003-03-27

I've been toying around all morning with my journal--creating DiaryRings pages and Reviews pages--instead of teaching. Why? Well, because only one student showed up for class today, and I figured that since the kid sure as hell doesn't have internet access at home, it would be mighty nice of me to let him take advantage of it here. So he has...all day. Hasn't opened his mouth, hasn't moved from his seat. As I watch him now, he is looking at the homepage for some type of car. He's supposed to be taking his driver's test soon. I do so hope he passes, even though there's not a chance in hell that he'll get a car like the one he's looking at at the moment.

I've also been reading Grouse's journal at Melissa's recommendation. I'd love to leave him a note in his guestbook, but the server here won't give me access. So I guess I'll have to wait until I get home.

A new family member is supposed to be arriving this afternoon. His name is Otis, and he's a three year old American Bulldog. Supposedly really sweet, very well trained, housebroken, etc. I'm getting him through a friend of a friend who has decided that she really doesn't want her small children around such a big dog. I, on the other hand, have been wanting a big dog for a long time, but have refused to spend money on one. (I think I wrote about that in another entry, but I'm too lazy to go find it and link to it.) So when Otis' name came up, I was all for it. I've seen pictures of him, and can't wait to meet him. Hope this doesn't turn out to be a bad blind date that I have to live with for the rest of his life!

I'll write more later and let you know if Otis is a good boy or not. Oh yeah, and I'm going to post the hair pics too. I know you'll just be writhing in suspense until then. ;-)

*************

Well, Otis has arrived! He is absolutely gorgeous, enormous, and so sweet that I can't believe it. I'm thrilled that he came to live with me. Right now, he's inside, dozing off and on at my feet. I'm thinking that when I'm home, he'll be inside with me, because I just love him. He can stay outside during the day when I'm working--we have a big backyard that he can get plenty of exercise in--but at night I imagine that I'll want him here to enjoy his company. I'll post pictures as soon as I get the chance.

I've had such a wonderful day today. I got paid (WHOOPEE!), and got an extra $400 bonus for some reason that I'm just not sure of. After depositing the majority of my check, I made a trip to the dollar store and found some great things. I got a little birdfeeder that I'm going to paint and hang outside on the porch, and two really pretty lamps that are going to go in the newly painted bedroom. (I'm slowly but surely decorating...still have to find that comforter, canopy, and curtains.) My next project is going to be our bedroom...I absolutely hate it as it is now. I want to make it warm, romantic, and inviting. After all, it's supposed to be the "retreat" room of the house, right? Well, it's not--it's the only room that I hate, and I've got to do something about it.

I also made a trip to the grocery store, which I haven't done in two weeks. I got enough stuff to cook dinner tonight--in case I haven't mentioned it, my little (19 yr. old) brother has been staying with me. It's been great...we're getting closer than ever, and I don't think I'd mind if he came to live with us. I know how tough it is to live with my parents--hell, I did it for 20 years. They're wonderful to visit (I see them almost every day) but not too spectacular to live with. Especially my father...there are so many stories I could tell, but I'm not doing that now. I'll save it for another entry. (Or two or three.)

I'm beginning to smell the casserole in the oven, so I guess I'll go check on it. A. comes home Tuesday, and I'm excited about that, too. The job is going pretty well--but I'm still not sure whether or not I'll continue with it next year. I miss the little kids.

Okay, I'm really going now.

Love and light, A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful