We're all okay.
8:58 a.m. - 2006-01-27

Sheesh. Two weeks without word from me. I'm terribly rude.

Things seem to be working themselves out slowly. It was a really, really rough two weeks, and there have been a lot of things said that won't ever be forgotten, but the majority of my family is at least on speaking terms again.

The wounds are still raw, though, so no tell-alls just yet. Probably never, at least not here.

They were able to bail my brother out two days after he got put in, and they've hired an expensive as all hell lawyer. I've told them from the beginning that J won't have to do any time, this being his first charge, but since they "didn't need any goddamn legal advice from me" they got to hear the same thing from a guy who's charging them $150/hr. Whatever.

Alan won't be home for another week, and already I feel like he's been gone forever. The paychecks are trying to persuade me into being okay with it--in three weeks he'll have made the equivalent of nearly two months of BOTH our salaries. I can stay home without worry, and in a couple of months we'll have awesome insurance for the three of us. He won't have to be gone three weeks at a time (and home only one) forever, though I'm not sure when the two weeks on / two weeks off will begin.

********

Well, I started this eight hours ago and forgot about it. Happy Friday.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful