Catch up
11:19 a.m. - 2006-01-07

Longer and longer between entries these days, even when there is so much to record. I need to stop that.

Alan got the job. He had to give urine and hair samples and undergo two hours of physical fitness evaluations, but everything checked out fine. He leaves for Houston next Thursday night. No idea how long he'll be gone. It's a bittersweet thing, this job, because while I'm grateful to be able to stay home with the baby, I'm giving up my husband. We'll probably see more of him when he is home, though. I'm hoping for two weeks on and two weeks off, but I'm not sure if that's how it'll turn out. They're sending him to school, too, to be an electrician, so that means more money and not as much physical labor, which is good. He'll be making double what he makes now, and he'll have insurance and retirement and a 401 K, so he's thrilled about that.

Ali(new pictures up!) laughed out loud for the first time on Tuesday the 3rd. At, of all things, a credit card commercial. She's been doing it a lot since then. For all my swearing that she'd not watch t.v., it seems to be one of her favorite things to do. I'm not concerned about it yet, but we'll be monitoring it more closely the older she gets. Right now it's just a bunch of flashing images, and she only spends thirty or so minutes a day looking at it all together. She really likes her Baby Einstein tapes (we have the Baby Van Gogh and the Neighborhood Animals), and is really starting to enjoy her floor mat.

Her three month check-up is on Thursday, the 12th, and I'm going to talk to the doctor about delaying her next vaccinations. I went ahead and had the first ones done, but after doing a bit more research, I'm not sure that I want to progress with the rest of them. At least not on the "normal" time schedule, anyway. There are an awful lot of risks involved with giving that many at one time, and it seems that the vaccines themselves are pretty controversial. I know that last time she acted funny afterwards, and I'm not 100% convinced that it's the best thing to do, especially since she's not in daycare or being exposed to a lot of strange germs.

We're still exclusively breastfeeding, though it's not so much my choice as it is hers. After taking a bottle for the entire first month of her life, she's decided that they're disgusting, and refuses anything except me. I'm glad that we managed to figure it out and be successful with nursing, but it'd be nice to be able to leave her with a grandparent for a couple hours now and then. Hopefully she'll come around to the idea eventually, or I may never get to go anywhere sans baby again.

Not that I REALLY mind, of course.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful