Pregnancy Dreams
2:39 p.m. - 2005-10-06

I just returned from the grocery store, and noticed that since becoming pregnant, the weekly contents of my cart have changed a bit.

I haven't had any really weird cravings, but do find myself reaching for stuff that I never really liked before. Namely, eggs. I've always had a rather distant relationship with eggs. They were fine if cooked in something (cake), and I'd even tolerate a fried or scrambled egg on very rare breakfast occasions, but only if accompanied by some bacon, grits, and toast. That way I didn't feel bad when I left the majority of the egg on my plate--I'd still had a "good" breakfast.

Now I find myself lusting after scrambled eggs. I look forward to mornings when I know there are some in the refrigerator, especially if there's also bread for toast. I whisk them up quickly with a little milk, scramble them to the perfect done-ness, and sprinkle on a little Tony's Seasoning. For those of you who don't have easy access to Tony's, it's kind of like the mixture of spices that Emeril calls "essence," but it's been around for a hell of a lot longer and tastes much better. Most folks around here use it in place of salt and pepper. I like it on eggs, in gumbo, jambalaya, beans, and on most meats before cooking. Alan slathers it on EVERYTHING, and we've had more than one argument about the fact that some things just do NOT go with it. Italian food, for example. But he doesn't care. I've learned the hard way that even if I don't have a single scrap of food in the house, I'd better have one of those green cans readily available. Tony's, ketchup, and "good" toilet paper are the only demands that my husband really places on me, weird as that may be. Heh.

Anyway, back to cravings. Cheerios are the other newest thing. I've never cared much for them either, but ever since picking up a box of the new vanilla Yogurt Burst Cheerios, I've made it a point to keep them in the house. I can't find the yogurt ones here in town (figures), but the Honey Nut are almost as good. Mmmm.

Other things I've enjoyed over the past nine months: fruit (any kind I can get my hands on), chickpeas, salads with vinagrette dressing, CHEESE, milk, hamburgers with mayonnaise and pickles, steak, salmon, and Mexican food. I've said that this baby is going to be born with a jalepeno in her mouth more than once, and the guys at the local mexican restaurant think it's hilarious. They're probably going to miss our frequent visits once the baby arrives.

***********

My doctor visit yesterday revealed that I'm now dilated three centimeters. Baby is still head down, facing my left hip, and everything looks perfect with her. I could actually see her little face on the ultrasound screen, and it looks like she's got fat little cheeks and big lips! I can't wait to meet her. We go back on Monday to talk with the doctor about some stuff (vagueness intentional) and to get checked again.

I keep fantasizing that I'll magically dilate to 10 without knowing it, and she'll just plop out right there in the doctor's office. Heh. If only.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful