-
5:05 p.m. - 2005-07-12

Yay! A burst of energy. I've been needing this.

We've finally begun real work on the baby's room. The door has been cut and installed so that we can walk directly from our room into hers, the carpet is up and waiting for the laminate floor to be laid, and paint is making its way onto the walls. I'm finally beginning to believe that it might be done by the time she gets here.

We're redoing the floor and walls in our bedroom too, so the project will take longer than normal. Everything came at a huge discount (or free), though, so it's not like we're spending a lot of money that we don't have. We used the last of our savings to buy the new air conditioner, so while we didn't have to add another bill to our impressive stack, we don't have anything left to fall back on should times get really hard. It's scary, this baby business.

I'm grateful that we're getting so many hand me downs. We borrowed the crib, a swing, the high chair, the bassinet, and an infant carseat. My sister is insisting on decorating the nursery for me (though I wish she wouldn't; it makes me feel weird). She's also helping a couple of my friends and my SIL throw me a baby shower, and if the guest list is any indication, we'll really rack up. I wish more of my immediate friends and family would use the internet for shopping, because I already have a nice registry made at Amazon. I only know of two baby stores in Port City, and I'm not at all impressed by what I've seen at either of them. Besides, I hate stores and shopping, especially now that my feet are beginning to swell!


0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful