Baby Love
5:53 a.m. - 2005-06-14

I've been feeling you move inside me for a while now. Every time, that familiar flicker causes me to stop still in my tracks. I wait, hoping that you'll do it more than once, and when I feel it again, I smile. Sometimes I laugh, and knowing that you can feel the vibrations (and perhaps even hear my voice) delights me. You prefer the lower left side of your home, it seems, and you don't really kick me yet. It feels more like you're rolling over, flipping and turning inside me. I don't think I'll ever tire of it, not even when you've grown bigger and the movements are more uncomfortable for me.

I talk to you now. I ask you if you're doing okay, and tell you about how much everyone loves you already. I say that I can't wait to meet you, but I want you to stay inside me and grow strong before you try to make an appearance. I speak of how beautiful and perfect you're going to be, and tell you about things that we'll do together when you get here. Daddy also speaks to you, and there is perhaps nothing sweeter to me in all the world than when he puts his mouth against my belly and gives you kisses. You're already captivating him, and it touches my heart to watch him fall even more madly in love with you. One would never imagine that such a strong, sturdy man could be instantly brought to his knees by someone so tiny (only a pound!), but it's true.

We can't really feel you from the outside just yet, but it won't be long. I've already grown quite accustomed to people wanting to touch you, and I'm excited to see their expressions when you move against their hand.

You already have us all under your spell, my baby, and I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful