Sweet Child of Mine
5:06 p.m. - 2005-05-10

For the upset, angry entry, hit the "previous" button there on the right side of your screen.

We get to go back in three weeks to find out if we're having a boy or a girl. This is supposed to be the most in-depth ultrasound that I'll get, and they'll do the checking of the heart and lungs and all that stuff. I'm a little anxious, especially since I opted out of the triple screen test, but very excited.

Yeah, we decided (after a great deal of talking) that it'll be better if we find out the sex. I really wouldn't have minded waiting until the baby's born--in fact, I think it would give me something to look forward to come August, when my ankles will most assuredly be rolling over the tops of my shoes and I'm sprawled out under a sprinkler in the living room--but Alan's point about being able to better plan things out does make sense. I'm already up to my ears in yellow. Five more months and I'd be ready to throw it all out of the window.

Not that I plan to dress the kid in blue or pink, anyway, but everyone in the family seems to think that it would be So Much Easier to buy for us if they knew what we're having. I really think that people just don't have patience or relish the element of surprise anymore. Ah, well. I'll be tickled whenever I find out, so I suppose it doesn't really matter.

While we were up there, we decided to take a look at cribs. I have a feeling that the baby will be sleeping with us more often than not, but I suppose that having a crib as back up isn't a bad idea. They're hellaciously expensive, though. The one we liked converts to a toddler and then a full sized bed, so I guess it averages out if you factor in not having to buy those things. Still, it's a hefty chunk of change to be tossing out at one time. Maybe we ought to try our luck at a few consignment stores or thrift shops.

Guess that pretty much does it for now. Two entries in one day is a lot more than I'm used to.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful