Tonight it's just me and the dog.
8:24 p.m. - 2005-02-20

I don't know how I used to do this for two weeks at a time.

Alan had to drive back to Arkansas tonight to retake the sentence structure part of the test tomorrow. He needed a 746 overall, but ended up with a 742. Those four points caused him a lot of grief, and he's been doubting himself all week. I've done my best to be supportive--helping him study, writing his resume and assuring him that he'll ace it this time--but it's obvious that not passing the first go round really bothered him. He has to pass the test to get the job he's after, so any good test taking vibes/prayers will be greatly appreciated.

The week may have been shorter than usual because of me missing Monday and Tuesday, but it damn sure made up for it in hellaciousness. My kids were way worse than usual (and that's saying a lot), and Friday afternoon couldn't have come soon enough. I'm thrilled to have tomorrow off (President's Day, for those of you not keeping track), but I can't help wishing that Alan was here instead of three and a half hours away. He's only been gone for four hours, but I already miss him. It'll be even worse when I decide to go to bed, because for all the bitching I do about his snoring and sprawling, I'm used to having him there beside me. One night alone won't kill me, of course, but it does make for a lot of boredom and cuddle wanting.

CD came over after lunch and assisted me with a bit of marathon cleaning. We managed to purge five trash bags full of crap--stuff that's been gathering in corners for the past year or so (we teachers are supposed to keep Everything, you know)--and the house looks a hell of a lot better. Tomorrow I have progress reports to fill out and a bunch of laundry to finish. Definitely not the most exciting agenda for a day off, but it's stuff that has to be done.

That's all I have for tonight. I'm off to scrounge up something for supper and watch The L Word (my newest addiction), and then a bath, a bit of reading, and bed. I hope Lily's in a snuggly sort of mood.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful