Spur of the Moment? Me? Never.
10:57 a.m. - 2005-02-15

Okay...brace yourselves.

We just got back from Arkansas (Shut. UP.) and had a really pleasant visit. So pleasant, in fact, that we stayed for a whole extra day (I took two days off work, though it wasn't planned when we left on Friday) to--get this--look for jobs.

No, really. We're thinking of moving there. Toss any jokes about people fucking their sisters, or hillbillies and rednecks my way if you want, because I can guarantee that I've heard them all. I promise that I pick on the south a hell of a lot harder than any of you do, but it's okay for me to do it since I live here. The mocking and drawling used to bother me, but I'm over it. We do talk funny, and there are plenty of dirt roads and trailer houses and cars up on blocks in front yards. It's just a part of living here, and as much as it makes me cringe and want to click my heels three times and be somewhere else, I've called this place home for most of my life.

I don't expect moving to change all that--we're still talking about a small town--but it'll at least be a fresh start, a new beginning, and all those other tired cliches that began to feel possible once we started looking at houses and filling out paperwork. I found an enormous, gorgeous antebellum home (no staircase though, so I can't fully live out my Scarlett O'Hara fantasies) that's well within our price range and only needs a minor amount of work. Ever since I saw it I've been begging Alan to put an offer in, but he's dragging his feet because he'd rather find something cheaper. (That house will be mine...oh, yes.) 'Course, we still have to sell our house here before we can feasibly move, so the "For Sale" sign is going back up tomorrow.

I went to the school board yesterday and met with the superintendent who assured me that I would be able to find a job without any problem. I have an application to fill out and send back to her along with a resume and a copy of my teaching certificate. Alan spent 4 hours taking some sort of test last night that he has to pass to be able to get on at the mill. We should find out the results today (cross your fingers), but if he didn't pass, he can retake it. It was pretty basic stuff, and we studied for a couple hours before, so I'm hoping that he did well.

So, yeah. Moving. The hardest part is going to be leaving my parents and grandparents, but we're only talking about a three hour drive, so it's not like I'm moving cross country. Baby steps, you know?

Now I'm off to unpack and clean house. I'm sure I'll be in trouble when I go in to work tomorrow since I don't have a doctor's excuse, but right now I don't really care.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful