General Grouchiness
6:14 p.m. - 2005-01-04

I was a colossal bitch last night, and I don't have any good reason.

Except, you know, I've been hurting like hell for the past two months (last night was a doozy) and I have a feeling that my hormones might be all whacked out. Plus, I'm sick to DEATH of my job (which is so sad, really, since yesterday was just the first day back) and all that it entails. I kept talking about quitting teaching and looking for an office job--or any job, really--that doesn't involve dealing with crazy kids and even crazier adults. Not getting enough sleep the night before probably didn't help matters either, and I'm stressing a little (okay, a lot) over the impending surgery. And Alan was doing stupid little inane shit that amounted to absolutely nothing but was still making me insane.

We made up before we went to bed, though, and I felt much better. The whole "don't go to bed angry" adage seems to be proving itself very, very true.

One of my students who left in early September mysteriously showed back up today, and I didn't even recognize him. He's grown a bit, and his attitude seems to have changed drastically for the better, so it was actually pleasurable to have him back. Discovering that one of the boys that has been driving me bonkers with his uncontrollable temper and maniacal outbursts transferred to another school was also a nice surprise.

I've sort of been keeping track of the tsunami death toll, but try to keep it in the back of my mind because it's just too hard to fathom and too depressing to think about. However, when Mrs. H. (the principal) mentioned in morning assembly that until now she'd never even heard of the word, I was shocked. How does one become the administrator of a school if you're that...uneducated? Granted, we don't really have tsunamis in Louisiana, but good LORD, isn't that something that you cover in high school? I'm certainly not a scientist, and wasn't even totally sure of how a tsunami occurs, but I've damn sure heard the word before and had a decent understanding of the term.

See what I mean? It's the little shit that drives me crazy.

I didn't leave school until 5:10 this evening because of a pointless, annoying, time-consuming meeting, and I'm beginning to feel a bit of the aggravation rising to the surface now that Alan's walked in the door asking a zillion questions and turning the t.v. on way too fucking loud, so I'll go.

A week from now I'll be prepping myself to have my uterus dilated and scraped, and my stomach pumped full of carbon dioxide so that they can laser a bunch of cysts off my ovaries.

Happy Tuesday.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful