It's time to get my act together.
11:57 a.m. - 2004-12-30

As my two-week break (and 2004) draws to a close, I'm beginning to feel sort of nervous. Uneasy. Behind.

In my living room sits a crate--chock full of school "work"--that hasn't been touched since I got it out of the car a week ago. I know that I need to be grading papers, getting my roll book in order, and planning, but I can't seem to muster up the willpower to do any of it. Instead, I clean house, vacuum floors, wash dishes, do laundry, move things from one room to another, play on the internet, read, or watch tv. (Well, not so much of the laundry, since I have two overflowing baskets staring at me from the futon, and I just don't want to fold or hang the shit.)

Alan got a door to the attic installed on Tuesday, and we've slowly but surely been cleaning out both the spare bedroom and the office (which have, until now, been "junk" rooms) and putting all the crap in there. Who knew we had so much extra space right over our heads? Not me, that's for sure. I'm too chicken to actually climb the steps and walk around up there, but I've been transferring boxes from the bedrooms to the laundry room so that he can store it away. As a result, we now have a clean, clutter-free yellow room for our overnight guests to stay in. Hopefully we'll get the office cleaned out tonight, and then maybe my house will become inhabitable again.

I didn't really get anything from my husband for Christmas (he gave me a clock, and promised that a more useful gift would be procured during the big post-holiday sales), but yesterday he brought home a brand new elliptical trainer. Many women would undoubtedly be pissed off if their significant other gave them a piece of exercise equipment as a gift, but I'm thrilled. We set it up in the living room so that I can watch t.v. and work on getting in shape at the same time. We don't normally make New Year's resolutions, but we're making an exception this year. That machine is going to be used EVERY day (hopefully by both of us).

Lastly, you might be interested to know that I scheduled my surgery for January 12th. I'm a little freaked out because of the cutting and lasers and all, but I'm excited about having less painful periods and the possibility of getting pregnant. I have a feeling that there's going to be a lot more action going on in the bedroom than usual as soon as the doctor gives me the thumbs up. And that'll definitely be nice, because there hasn't been much of anything going on lately.

Now that you've gotten the gist of what has (and hasn't) been going on in my life and house over the past week, I'll go. Just wanted to let everyone know that I'm still here, doing okay (or at least as well as can be expected), and that I'm hoping that 2005 is a hell of a lot better than this year has been.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful