And the Leaves Begin to Fall...
4:09 p.m. - 2004-10-14

Oh, how I love this time of year.

I woke up cold this morning, and all I wanted to do was crawl back under the covers and snuggle up to Alan. Instead, I hit the snooze button just one more time and was rudely awakened nine minutes later by the blaring of the alarm. I managed to drag my lazy ass out of bed and go about getting ready in a record amount of time. Makeup? Check. Hair brushed? Check. Clothes? Check. Shoes? Check. Jewelry? Check. Perfume/Oil? Check. Purse, bag o' books, keys and watch? Check, check, check, and check.

Upon opening the front door I was hit full force with a gust of very chilly wind, and I couldn't keep myself from grinning. THIS is my kind of weather. Right before everything starts getting all cold and wet and bone-chilling, while there's a bit more of a hint of what's to come later on and the realization that summer and sweaty heat will soon become a distant memory...oh, fall, how I love thee.

I also love, love, LOVE the fact that I don't have to work tomorrow, though it's due to the unfortunate circumstance of Alan's uncle passing away yesterday. I need that day off, by goddess, and I'm going to take it. Even if it means being cooped up with a bunch of weepy in-laws and stuffy funeral parlors.

On the drive home today I had a great idea for a journal entry, but I lost it as soon as I stepped out of the car. Phooey.

Got a package today from Jessica--some beautiful silver earrings, and a card--and while I appreciate her generosity, I feel bad that I haven't given her anything yet. Maybe I'll get a chance when we go into the city for the funeral tomorrow. I'm just not much of a gift getter--not that I don't enjoy it--because I rarely have the time (or any places) to actually shop for cool things.

Okay, I'm done here. No work tomorrow, so that means drinking a few beers and reLAXing. Love to all.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful