Flowers, clean houses, and relaxation
7:53 p.m. - 2003-04-05

I'm dirty, grimy, and the soreness is already setting in.

Wanna know why?

We worked in the yard today. It was a positively wonderful experience. The weather was gorgeous (quite warm, but with a wonderful breeze), and decided that today would be as good a day as any to tend to the front flower beds that have been seriously neglected during the winter months.

And I'm so pleased with the results. We picked an array of azaleas, mexican heather, some small brightly colored pink and purple flowers, two banana shrubs (they're supposed to get quite large and the blooms supposedly smell like bananas. Yum. They've ALREADY put out a few blooms that smell scrumptions. I can't wait until they get into the full blooming stage! Also, I got a few brightly colored Gerber daisies, and mixed them in with the lot. We're going to have such a beautiful, colorful front yard this year. I'm so excited!

In the midst of our "gardening," I came to realize just how wonderful the experience is. I've never planted anything from seed, you see, so there's always immediate gratification (though only a small bit, because nothing is thriving yet) for me. It was so nice, getting my hands deep down into the soil, carefully removing the plants from their pots, loosening the ones that had already become root-bound, and being outdoors in beautiful weather. Plus, I got acquainted with quite a few bugs--roly-poly's, to be exact--that I don't mind at all. (Now, the tiny roaches that scattered were NOT so fun.)

I used to LOVE playing with roly-poly's in my childhood. They were so interesting to me...as soon as you touch them, they roll into incredibly tight little balls. Gradually, they loosen up and begin crawling on you. Such interesting little creatures.

All in all, it's been a good day. The fi has company tonight (at least he's recruited him into giving some help), and I'm about to go take a long, luxurious bath and use up the tiny bit that's left in my Cottage Shop body butters. I'm SO ready for my other order to come in! I've decided that this is absolutely these are the most wonderful bath and body products on the market. (And SO inexpensive!) Try them. I assure you you'll be happy with the result.

I did a little house-cleaning this evening, so the inside of my home looks pretty nice too. The candles inside are already lit (it's beginning to smell great in here.) I'd love nothing more than to go take a wonderful, quiet, relaxing bath and be able to come out in just my robe for the rest of the night. (Am I the ONLY one who enjoys the hell out of being able to walk around my house naked? Visitors always screw that up, and it irritates me.)

Melissa is supposed to drop by later too. I can't decide if I'm going to enjoy it or not. Seeing her now kinda depresses me. Even though she's found a job (waitressing at a Huddle House), I'm still not too sure about my feelings toward her. I love her, and always will, but I just can't lie worth a damn, and it's hard to put on a fake front when dealing with close friends. Oh well...maybe she'll show, maybe she won't. It really matters very little to me.

Allrighty then, I'm about to go eat my Subway and then get in the bath. Maybe not even in that order.

Love and light,

A.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful