Stare at the word CAKE for a long time and let me know if it starts looking weird to you....
7:15 p.m. - 2003-04-28

I'm baking my cake, and the damn thing is burning on top.

I, being the type of person who has baked approximately one other cake in her entire life, flip out. I call my mother.

"My cake is burning! On top. What do I do?"

"It needs to be on the middle rack. Is it on the middle rack?"

"I don't know. I'm not in the kitchen. I don't think so, though."

"Put it on the middle rack."

So, off to the kitchen I go to move my cake around. The fucker is ON the middle rack. *freak*

The phone rang four times before she answered it.

"It's on the middle rack. What do I do?"

"I don't know, honey! Turn the heat down or something. We're trying to watch a movie, okay?"

In other words, it's your cake, you big twenty-two year old baby. Negotiate this obstacle by yourself. Your father and I are enjoying our childlessness and watching a freakin' movie, for god's sake.

Yeah, well, thanks mom. Where were you when I was in high school? Back then I would have given my left tit for parents that basically told me to fuck off and do my own thing. Now, when I really need advice about things like cakes, you're nowhere to be found.

I turned the heat down, anyway. It can't hurt.

*********

Yay. It's fine. I'm going to watch t.v. while it cools, then I'll frost and enjoy some fattening yumminess. Mmmmm....caaaaaakeeeee.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful