That Old Familiar Feeling
4:00 p.m. - 2006-08-30

Feeling better, though still not quite 100%. I ended up going to the ER on Sunday, and they were initially worried that it may be meningitis, but 5 vials of bloodwork seemed to rule that out. The doctors and hospital here shouldn't even be working at a vet's office, though. They pumped me full of Demerol and Finergan and sent me on my merry way. No explanation for the fever or headaches other than "it's probably just a migraine." With traces still lingering more than a week after it started, I kind of doubt that, but at least my brain's not threatening to explode out of my skull at the moment.

Even with the nagging headache, I can't complain too much today. When I first stepped out on the porch this morning, I nearly squealed with glee. Whereas for the last four months or so the heat has been sweltering even at 9 a.m., this morning I got the first glimpse of fall being around the corner. Not quite a chill in the air yet, but the day started out quite cool and breezy, and has been absolutely gorgeous ever since. Ali and I have spent a good portion of the day outdoors--something that hasn't happened all summer long--swinging her, walking around the yard, and for the first time in many months, actually enjoying the feel of the sun on our faces. I can't wait until I step outside and get that first shiver of the season and realize that it's time to pull out the jackets and sweaters. Though I've spent the last four or so years being somewhat anonymous in this journal, I'll say this...I was very aptly named. Autumn is--and always will be--my favorite time of the year.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful