A slightly drunken rambly type post about our day.
6:01 p.m. - 2006-07-07

Good day today!

After "forgetting" (i.e.: being too lazy/depressed/not willing to endure face to face contact with other humans to drive the two minutes to the pharmacy) to get my Zoloft for like, FIVE DAYS, I was kind of teetering on the brink of nutso. But the three of you who actually read this already knew that, didn't you? 'Course you did.

But finally--FINALLY--I did pick up the script, and while things aren't all roses and chocolate, they're definitely looking up. Speaking of chocolate, have you tried the Choxie Rasberry Lemon Crunch with Lemon Biscotti from Target? SO. FREAKING. YUMMY. I know this because we went to Target today and I purchased a bar, and I wish like hell I'd have just bought a case of the stuff, because it? Is DEE.LI.CIOUS.

What was I talking about? Oh yes, my day. The good day. Ali had her well-baby checkup (she's doing marvelously, thanks for asking) and is meeting every milestone for a regular nine month old--even "ahead" on some things--gaining the right amount of weight, etc., etc., blah blah. The doctor actually commended me on being such a wonderful parent. Me! Wonderful parent! I may have neglected to mention the many, many falls she's taken, the inappropriate objects I've dug out of her mouth in the past few weeks, the busted lip incident, but obviously she's perfectly okay and thriving, and that's good news.

Speaking of babies eating things they shouldn't, there was a rather comedic incident that happened to...someone I know the other day. Apparently the baby was crawling around on the floor, and the mom noticed something brown dripping from the baby's mouth. And then she saw that the baby had this weird look on her face, and that there was, in fact, something in her mouth, so the mom fished it out, and it was...a tiny piece of DRIED UP DOG POOP. So, of course, the mom freaked the fuck out, which only upset the baby more, and lots of screaming commenced. The baby's grandmother stepped in, and after a quick spritz of diluted peroxide in said baby's mouth (and a tiny, tiny daub of toothpaste to get rid of the poop-breath), all was well. The baby is fine. Even the doctor said so. The baby is THRIVING.

Why are you looking at me like that? That TOTALLY did NOT happen to me, because I am a WONDERFUL MOTHER who watches every step her precious baby makes, and I would never, ever, NEVER EVER allow something like that to happen. You believe me, right?

Anyway. Back to the good day. We had Indian food for lunch, and Alan has determined that in this case, the third time is definitely NOT a charm, because he despises the stuff and will never set foot in another Indian restaurant. I myself am still kind of on the fence about Indian cuisine, but I'd be willing to give it a shot again. Definitely not my favorite, but it's okay. Ali seemed to enjoy her portions--the basmati rice, saag paneer, and chicken tikka masala were a big hit with her. Hopefully she'll continue this adventurous taste-bud trend, because I refuse to have one of those kids who will only eat chicken nuggets and fish sticks. (She's never had either of those, by the way, and if I have my way, she never will.)

After lunch, we stopped by a highly reputable tattoo and piercing place, and I decided that it was time to go ahead and get the cartilage piercing that I've been wanting for awhile now. It's right above my mid-ear piercing in my left ear, and I'm very happy with it. I also met with the artist I've chosen to do my next tattoo, and I really like him. I'm not sure when I'm going to get it done, but it's going to be a custom piece designed around a Celtic motherhood knot, and it's going on my right shoulder.

Then to Target, where we spent WAY more money than we should have. I got a few solid color t-shirts, a purse, some makeup (including a foundation brush that I've discovered is essential since I started reading Amalah), shoes for Ali (but I forgot to get shoes for ME, which was one of the main reasons we went), and other stuff we need, like diapers. And wine. And beer. We've already been into the beer, though that's probably obvious, given the length and randomness of this post.

I came home to find three more shirts that I bought off Ebay a week or so ago, so I'm pretty much set for clothes. But I'm longing for shoes. Oh, and a new layout for this damn page. Wah.

Now Alan's grilling bratwurst (to go with the beer, duh), and I need to tend to the kiddo.

All in all, it's been a good day.

Good night.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful