Catch Up
5:16 p.m. - 2006-06-07

Gah! Fifteen days. Two whole weeks gone, not a word written to remember them.

I got my hair whacked off while Alan was home last week. It's about chin length in front, shorter in back. I went in without any idea of what I wanted, figuring that I'd probably only get a trim in the end. Started browsing through the hair books, and after a brief conversation with the stylist, decided to just go for it. The fact that the temp outside was 95 with 100% humdity had a lot to do with it, I think. Now I'm cooler, but I have to do a lot more hair wrangling than I'm used to. Damn this insanely thick, coarse, wavy mop of mine. I like the way it looks after I've blown it dry and flat-ironed it, but that seems like a hell of a lot of effort to just hang around the house. Still, the look on Alan's face when I walked in with 2/3's less hair was PRICELESS. He actually had the audacity to get pissed at me! Started mouthing off something awful. His mother happened to be sitting across from him and shut him up right quick. "All right, I've heard enough. Let me cut in here. It's HER hair, and it looks great. You keep your mouth shut, and DON'T let me hear you talking to her like that again. Got it?"

I love my MIL.

Ali's waving and clapping and saying "Hey" and "Hi" all the time now. Every once in a while we'll get a "'Kay" out of her after we say "Okay?" and there've been a few times when I could've sworn that she said "Mama," but I'm not certain. She's a little chatterbox, that's for sure. Babbles constantly, especially after she wakes up in the morning or from a nap. Maybe she's telling me what she dreamed about? She plays Pat-a-cake and will entertain herself long enough for me to get a few things done.

She's incredibly observant too--my mother calls her nosey--and ALWAYS wants to be involved in whatever I'm doing. Definitely a Mama's Girl, she won't have much to do with anyone once it gets to be about 4 p.m. or so, and she screams bloody murder if I walk out of her line of vision. Drives me nuts.

Speaking of screaming, she's letting me know now that I've been typing for quite long enough.


0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful