Baby Baby Baby blah blah blah
9:42 a.m. - 2005-12-03

My baby got her two month vaccinations yesterday. Before she got started, the nurse told me that I could leave the room if I wanted. I think I looked at her like she was insane. It was bad enough that my angel was having to get those awful shots; I sure as hell wasn't going to abandon her too. I bent over her face, telling her how much I loved her and how sorry I was that she had to go through it, and held her hands as she screamed. I've never heard her cry like that, and it absolutely broke my heart. I got to nurse her immediately afterward, and that helped calm her down a bit.

Aliana weighs 11 lbs. and 3 oz. now, and is 21 1/2 inches long! She's getting to be such a big girl, and I fall more and more in love with her every day. I feel bad for Alan, though, because she usually starts crying within minutes of him picking her up, and won't stop until I take her. He told me the other day, "I can't wait until she starts to love me as much as she loves you." I know it has to be hard for him, but she spends every minute of every day with me, and I'm her constant source of comfort, nurturing, and FOOD, so of course she's going to be a little bit more attached to her mama. It won't be long until she starts doting on her daddy, though, and I can't wait to see her wanting to make every step he does.

I realized a couple of days ago that I wasn't feeling at all Christmas-y, so last night we bought a tree and some ornaments. Alan's mom gave us a lot of adorable little ornaments that she'd saved for us too, so now we have a fully decorated tree in the corner of the living room. It's nice to have a daily reminder that Christmas is just around the corner, especially since it's nearly 80 degrees here today, and unlike people who actually GET OUT OF THE HOUSE, I haven't been completely bombarded with holiday stuff. I'm plannig on buying a few more things to decorate with today, in addition to cleaning my messy, messy house.

Boy, I'll bet I've lost half of my readers because of my incessant chatter about babies. One of these days I'm going to have something else to talk about.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful