From FL
2:10 p.m. - 2005-11-21

We made it to Florida, and even though there's not much left (so much devastation...my god) and it's cold and rainy and nothing looks like I remember, I'm glad to be here.

It's nice to be out of my house and that shithole of a town, and away from everyone except my immediate family for a few days. My parents have their own annoying little quirks, but I honestly love being around them both for short periods of time. (A week should definitely suffice.)

Aliana is being smothered with kisses and love and affection, and I'm planning my first real outing without her tomorrow. My brother and I are going to see RENT (OMG! Squee! So SO SOOOO EXCITED! Have been waiting for it since JUNE!) and my mother is keeping the baby. So, yay!

We have a couple of bottles of wine for tonight (neither of my parents drink, so the two of us should be nice and tipsy), and he and my dad are out now, purchasing fresh shrimp and crab and cheese for what just may be the most delicious meal EVER. Because, wine? Makes everything better. Especially yummy seafood. We had a platter of snowcrab legs (already shelled and artfully arranged on platter!!) waiting on us when we got here yesterday, and HOO BOY, it was scrumptious. I should have taken a picture.

So, yeah, I'm having a good time. It's even kind of nice being away from Alan (shh...don't tell him) because of the abscence making hearts grow fonder and stuff.

Gotta run.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful