D & E
9:14 p.m. - 2005-09-28

Well, we're in the final stretch.

Had another doctor appointment this morning. I was 2 cm dilated and 20% effaced when he checked me, and was told that I'd likely go into labor within 2 weeks.

Fast forward three and a half hours. Jasmine and I had been shopping for last minute necessities at Target, and before we hit cosmetics I decided that I needed to make a pit stop at the bathroom. I was a little shocked to see that I'd soaked through my pants and that there was blood on the toilet paper, but didn't think too much of it. I decided that it would be best to put a call in to my doctor, though, just to be safe. Imagine my surprise when they told me to go straight to Labor and Delivery!

I was even more shocked when the litmus test came back as a glaring positive for amniotic fluid, and when the nurse said, "It's going to be a birthday! You'll only have 24 hours to deliver, though," I just about fell off the bed. I'm 36 weeks pregnant, so everything would likely be fine, but I'd really like to give her another week to cook before she decides to make her big appearance.

I'd been hooked up to the monitors for nearly an hour when my doctor came in. He explained that the litmus test had a chance of being negative, and that he wanted to do a more thorough exam before making any further decisions.

Enter the speculum and specimen slide. It didn't take him long to let me know that it came back negative as amniotic fluid, and that if I wasn't having major contractions (I wasn't), I'd be monitored and sent home.

Two hours later we were dismissed by the head nurse with instructions for me to go home and rest, drink plenty of fluids, and that I'd likely be back up there this weekend for the real thing. By the time we left I'd effaced from 20% to 50%, and the regular cramps I'm having are a good indication that I'm making even more progress. She told me that she'd be "VERY surprised" if I made it two more weeks, so that's good news as far as I'm concerned.

Alan's so excited he can barely sit still. It's adorable.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful