Battening Down the Hatches
1:41 p.m. - 2005-09-23

I stocked up on non-perishables and water yesterday. If we're out of power for an extended period of time, I guess we'll get our fill of Vienna Sausage, Spam, and cold beans from a can.

They're forecasting between 20-30 inches of rain and at least Cat 1 force winds here over the next couple of days. I have our house insurance policy in a Ziplock bag, and I guess one of us will keep it on us at all times. I can't even imagine what the people in Texas and further south are feeling.

New Orleans is flooded again. While watching the news, my sister said that she wished Rita would just go on and blow the rest of the city away. She's sick of dealing with the shit, and I'm sure that there are a lot of other people from NOLA that feel the same way. As she said, "Better for it to hit New Orleans than cause that kind of damage elsewhere." Blanco told those who decide to stay that they need to write their Social Security numbers on their forearms in indelible ink so their bodies would be easier to identify.

My BIL decided to stay.

I worry that the baby will decide to come in the middle of all this, and that we won't be able to get to a hospital. I can't quit thinking about the likely hundreds--thousands--of pregnant women stuck in traffic, or in broken down cars on the side of some road in 104 degree heat. Or worse, those who decided that they'd be better off at home, because whoever is in charge won't open the southbound lanes of the fucking interstate so that people can get to safety.

I'm trying to stay optimistic, but it's nearly impossible.

Pray.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful