Preparations
1:44 p.m. - 2005-09-19


Seems the baby shower was exactly the kick in the butt I've been needing to kickstart my desire to continue with getting things in order for when the baby decides to make her appearance. (Hopefully not for another couple of weeks yet...)

I'd only been to one baby shower before (when I was very young), so I wasn't quite sure what to expect at my own. I knew that the main purpose was to "shower" the mom-to-be with gifts, but I had NO idea that we'd receive so much stuff. By the time the shower actually started, the gifts had overflown the table and were taking up all the space underneath and on either side.

Everyone kept telling me that men aren't "supposed" to go to baby showers, but I invited them anyway. There was no way that Alan was going to get out of going, and I guess the guys in his family took that as open invitation to come too. Wade and his husband were at the top of my list of invites, as was Billy, so we ended up with about eight men total. I think some of my more Traditional family members were a little shocked to see all those grown men standing around (especially Wade, who was oohing and aahing with the best of them), but no one made mention of it (at least not to me).

I wanted Alan to help me open some of the gifts, but he flat out refused. Seems the thought of being scrutinized by a table of 35 or so baby crazy women scared him half to death. I can't say that I blame him...my exclamations quieted by about the tenth gift, and by the time I got done (an hour and a half into the shower!) I thought my face might break in half.

I certainly don't mean to sound ungrateful, because I was absolutely amazed by the generosity of our friends and family. They went above and beyond anything I could have imagined, and there's practically nothing left for us to buy. I've never seen so many clothes in my life, and though the closet is pretty overrun with pink, I can't forsee needing to buy any more clothes for at least two years. We're very, very lucky to have people who care so much about us.

*******

In other news, my left big toe has an ingrown nail, and after digging around on it for the better part of an hour Saturday night, I'm now left with a swollen, excruciatingly painful digit. It's all I can do to keep from screaming when I bump it on anything--even the sheets at night--and I'm not sure what to do. I think the nail itself is out, but I'm worried that the infection is going to get worse. I'll mention it to my OB tomorrow, but just the thought of going to the local clinic for treatment exhausts me. The normal two hour wait time has increased with the recent influx of evacuees, and I can't stand being stuck in there for an entire morning. I've been fighting a cold for the last week or so, so it would probably be a good idea for me to see a regular doctor, but I just don't want to.

I think it's time to go now, especially since I've had this minimized on my screen since yesterday.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful