Nesting. Finally.
8:02 a.m. - 2005-09-10

I'm sort of shocked that I've managed to write a couple of entries that aren't exclusively about the "B" word, so now we'll return to our regularly scheduled programming.

Yeah, around these parts it's All Baby, All the Time. Every waking (and usually sleeping, too) moment of my day is occupied with thoughts of tiny toes, grins and giggles. I'm in the middle of my 33rd week, which is shocking to me, because back in the first trimester I was convinced that I was going to be pregnant FOREVER. Now there are just seven weeks left until my due date, and it's hard for me to believe that I'll be holding my baby in that short amount of time.

We're making plenty of progress on the house, so I'm a lot less stressed about getting things completed. Alan has been working his ass off, installing new flooring, painting, moving furniture, and putting up moulding. Our couch finally came in, and it's great to have something to sit on that isn't older than I am. It's finally beginning to look like a home in here. I've been bargain shopping, and have come home with quite a few good decorative deals.
See here for an example. All together, that bedding cost me a whopping sixty bucks. I'm VERY pleased with it, especially for the price. I keep finding pictures that only cost between $10-$20, and have managed to spruce up both the living and bed rooms with my cheapie art. Nothing fancy, certainly, but it looks nice hanging on the wall.

The baby shower is next Saturday, and I'm actually (shockingly!) looking forward to it. We planned our wedding in record time (for no reason other than I didn't want to have to worry about a bunch of details), and didn't have a shower at all. I know that they're traditional, but I've always been one to buck tradition. Besides, I feel weird sending out invitations to an event where the main idea is buying me stuff. I'd rather do it myself than feel like I'm being rude or inconveniencing someone, I guess. I'm glad other people took the reins and made me keep my mouth shut on this one, though. We don't necessarily NEED anything at all, but I think it'll be fun. Plus, there will be food--caaaake--so I'm guaranteed to enjoy that part.

I'm made more and more aware of how much this baby is growing every day. Besides the nearly continuous rolling around that she does in my belly (it looks like any minute something is going to burst forth from there, ala Alien) she's pressing down HARD with what I assume are her shoulders and head. The pressure on my pelvic floor is really pretty painful, and turning over in bed has become quite an ordeal. Sometimes, when I lift one leg at a time (putting on pants, etc.) I feel like the kid is just going to FALL OUT. It's very disconcerting.

That's all I have for today.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful