Baby Update (32 weeks)
2:50 p.m. - 2005-09-01

Okay, something NOT about the hurricane.

Let's talk about BABIES!

I'm sure you didn't see that one coming.

OB appointment and ultrasound yesterday. The 3D u/s machine wasn't so much 3D as it was...a waste of time. It just took the 2D image and converted whichever part the lady cropped to 3D. In theory, this wouldn't work very well, but in reality? It doesn't work at all. I got a print out of a couple of black blobs and gray bumps, and no matter which way I turn the damn thing, I can't figure out what it's supposed to be. Which isn't too surprising since I never was able to see those 3D pictures that were so popular ten years ago. Look THROUGH the image, my ass.

Anyway, baby's measurements all look to be right on target. The technician said that she looks to weigh about 4 lbs. (and 3 oz.) now, so she's done a LOT of growing in the last month. She's already in the head down position, though it's definitely possible that she could flip around a few times within the next two months. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that she gets where she's supposed to be before she decides to come out.

I have to go back in two weeks, and it won't be long before we'll start the weekly visits. I'm not looking forward to that 50 mile drive every week, but hopefully I won't have to make too many of them. In just four and a half weeks (!!) I'll be considered full term, and as long as she's okay, it would be fine with me if baby decided to make her appearance around then. I have a feeling I'm going to go the full 40, though, especially since I don't plan to be induced.

So much for wishing for things to hurry up. The weeks seem to be moving at light speed these days, and I just hope we have time to get all our projects finished before she decides to make her appearance!

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful