Eye of the Storm
8:41 p.m. - 2005-08-28

Whether you believe in prayer or not, please keep the Gulf coast in your thoughts. It looks like New Orleans is going to be blown off the map, and thousands--some estimate a million--of people will end up losing their homes, and quite possibly, their lives.

My sister and her family made it up here safely, though it took her husband 11 hours to make a 5 hour drive. She managed to grab some pictures, the dog, and two changes of clothes for each of them. They're some of the lucky ones.

A hundred thousand (or more) people didn't have anywhere to go, and they're packing as many of them as they can into the Superdome in hopes that it will survive the 170 mph winds they're predicting. The place is going to fill up like a bowl, and there won't be any way to get the water out.

I've been glued to the television since 9 a.m., and I imagine I'll be up the rest of the night too.

Disaster area, indeed.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful