Butterflies and Fairies
4:47 p.m. - 2005-07-25

I have some not-so-good news about work and the insurance situation, but I'm not ready to discuss it here yet.

The baby's room is officially done. Alan put down laminate flooring, added new paint and a chair rail, and my sister spent five hours doing lots of cutesy decorating. I still have three (gorgeous) fairy pictures to hang, and we're going to get a rocking chair to put in there, but this should give a basic idea of how it looks.

Pictures! (They're HUGE, and I'm sorry, but I don't know how to resize them.)

As you come in the door:

Advancing into the room (this one came out kind of blurry, for some reason):

In the corner, facing the crib (and the door):

The border doesn't match up in a few places, and it's driving me nuts, but I'm trying to resist the urge to rip it all down. I love the butterfly and fairy theme that she chose (she DOES know me a little bit!), and though I initially didn't want it to be too "girly," I'm thrilled with the way it turned out. It's even prettier at night with the overhead lights out...I'm sort of looking forward to those 3 a.m. feedings!

And I PROMISE I'll get belly pictures put up here sometime before the baby comes. I just can't seem to remember to get Alan to take one when I'm looking halfway presentable.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful