I love the mouth explosion
3:59 p.m. - 2005-05-27

No more pencils, no more books, no more (students') dirty looks...

School's out! Yahoo!!!! I have to go in on Monday and Tuesday to pack up the rest of my room and check out officially with the administration, but for the most part, I'm DONE. It doesn't even feel real. Where on earth did this year go?

I have a crazy amount of work to do this summer. The house needs to be cleaned extensively, and I hope that I get that nesting feeling that people talk about. Up to this point I've been so damn exhausted when I come home that a snack, a nap, and relaxing are the only things on my minds. Hopefully I'll get out of that rut and get some things done when I have the entire day. We still have to cut a door in between our room and the baby's, put down new flooring, paint, and all that stuff. The carpet needs a deep cleaning too. Those things I can't do myself, but there's plenty more that I can handle alone.

We opted not to buy the expensive convertible crib since my sister offered hers up for free. With us losing an entire paycheck, it's going to be absolutely necessary to cut every possible corner. Alan's mom has a toddler bed that we can have, and we have a full size bed for after that. We plan on co-sleeping for the first few years anyway, so I doubt we'll get much use out of the crib, but it'll be nice to have.

This may be a bit TMI, but my breasts started leaking colostrum yesterday. I was totally shocked--didn't think it would happen to me, and certainly not so soon--but it's so cool to know that my body is already readying itself for this baby. We go back on Thursday for the in-depth ultrasound (where they measure and look at everything), and I'm excited to get some more video and pictures to show everyone.

I'm still not feeling regular movement, and that worries me a little. I know that it's probably still very light, and my being so busy all day keeps me from realizing that it's happening, but I want to feel something definite. In a few months I'll probably be begging her to lay off with the kicking, but right now I'd just like some internal reassurance that things are progressing normally. (Worry? Me? Never.)

My tomato cravings are still in full force, though I managed to satiate them a bit by eating my weight in fresh vegetables a few minutes ago. We're having a faculty lunch at school on Monday, and I had picked up a vegetable tray to bring, but temptation proved too strong for me. Oh well, I'll just make a pasta salad or something on Sunday and no one will know the difference.

Now I need to get off my ass and do the dishes.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful