I can't believe I ate the whole thing.
4:46 p.m. - 2005-05-18

Did someone mention food?

And the cravings have officially begun. During the first couple of months I wanted to gorge non-stop on fruits and vegetables, which made complete sense being that it was still winter and I wouldn't be able to get a good tomato for at least six months. I'm thrilled now that tomato (and zucchini, and watermelon, and cucumber, and peach) season is creeping up on me, but I've found that my mouth waters for different things on a daily basis.

Last weekend it was buffalo wings. Since we don't have anywhere to buy even a cheap imitation within a fifty mile radius, Alan decided that he'd undertake making them on his own. He and my brother (we're back on speaking terms) spent the better part of Sunday afternoon mixing, dipping, and saucing, and the end result was suprisingly good. Of course, the grease and hot sauce resulted in a crippling bout of heartburn for me, but a couple of Tums cleared that up pretty quickly.

Tonight I've decided to cook chicken pot pie. It's something I've never made before, but doesn't seem like it'll be too hard. What I'm looking forward to even more than the pie, though, is a big salad with homemade ranch dressing. I made it the other night to eat with the buffalo wings, and let me tell you, it's some seriously good stuff. Very artery clogging and cholesterol raising, but that's a problem with every full-fat salad dressing. I usually buy Hidden Valley in a bottle, but no more. It takes all of five minutes to whip it up myself, and is ten thousand times better.

And now, for the good news. Only seven school days left with the kids! Whoo-HOO! I believe I'll have a salad to celebrate.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful