Sixteen days left
1:51 p.m. - 2005-05-04

Thankfully, I've calmed down a little, though I don't have any plans to discuss what happened to bring on the previous entry. Suffice it to say that Saturday was highly traumatic for me both physically and emotionally, and I hope like hell I never have to experience anything even remotely similar for the rest of my life.

School's winding down, and so is my patience. The kids are tired of being here, and they don't really want to do anything productive. It's a constant struggle to keep them on task, and I've pretty much given up for the remainder of the day. They're reasonably quiet right now, making Mother's Day cards and just goofing off, so I'm not bothering them. I doubt I'll take them outside today, but I may turn on a movie during the last few minutes of class.

It's evidently Teacher Appreciation week (we have a really great P.T.O.), and they've set up ice cream and all the fixings in the front office. I could totally go for a scoop of vanilla with some butterscotch sauce right now, but there's no way for me to get away from the kids. Hopefully some will still be left after dismissal.

Alan left today for a three day training in Mississippi. Truth be told, I don't mind too much. This will be my first night alone since he quit the oil field, and though I'm not necessarily looking forward to it, it'll be nice to lounge around when I get home this evening instead of worrying about making dinner and straightening up.

Not much else to report...I'm actually feeling pretty good these days. Not nearly so tired as I was a few weeks ago, and I feel great aside from these pulling ligament pains in my stomach. My first appointment with the new doctor is on Tuesday the 10th. I don't know if he has an ultrasound scheduled or not. Probably not, especially if they can find the heartbeat with the doppler. (Shouldn't have any problem, seeing as how I'll be in the middle of the fifteenth week by then.)

Oooh...another teacher offered to go get me some ice cream. There isn't any butterscotch, so chocolate with nuts will have to do. Yum!

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful