Down by the lake
6:59 p.m. - 2005-04-17

We went fishing today. Didn't catch anything to speak of, but it was nice to get out of the house and do something fun for a change.

The weather has been absolutely gorgeous for the past couple of weeks. We seem to have lucked up and actually gotten some spring thrown in the mix before full on summer hits. It's not often that it happens this way, but I'm ever so grateful for relatively cool weather and sunshine and breezes. All too soon I'll be battling the 102 degree humidity, and I can't imagine the misery of being hugely pregnant and overheated. Ugh.

The fishing wasn't our idea. My brother asked us to go, and I'm really glad that we did. It's hard to believe that he's the same person as the angry, irritable crack-head that inhabited his body only a few months ago. He baited my hook, brought me a chair to sit in, carried my pole. He completely vetoed the idea of fishing in a spot that could only be accessed by a steep, rocky incline, solely because he didn't want me to have to walk down it. Amazing. He's managed to stay clean for a while now, and I hope he continues. I'm putting a lot of faith in him.

I don't want to go to work tomorrow. (Surprise, surprise.) I have an inservice on Tuesday, and I'm looking forward to the time away from the classroom. I manage to do pretty well in the mornings, but by mid-afternoon I've lost all my steam and want to collapse in the middle of the floor. I try to sit down as much as possible, but that's not easy for a teacher to do. Thank God summer starts May 31st.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful