Bits and Pieces...and a little about the concert.
2:07 p.m. - 2005-02-06

Incredible show last night. Best I've ever seen.

Of course, I've not been to all that many big concerts, so that's probably not saying much. Still, Cher is fantastic. During costume and set changes (and there were a lot of them) they showed footage of her throughout the years. Stuff from the variety show, movie clips, footage from when she won an Academy award, interviews with Barbara Walters and appearances on Letterman. Since I've only been around since '80, I actually learned a few things about her.

She came down on a crystal chandelier, and other than acknowledging the audience--it's Mardi Gras, so virtually everyone there was drunk--she talked a little about getting old.

"Yeah, I know you guys will miss me, but at least you've got Britney, Christina and Jessica to look forward to." *cue lots booing, and Cher laughing a little* "Okay, okay, we know they suck. Actually, I need to stop saying that--I said it once, and I just can't seem to quit. I'm going to get my ass in trouble. Now...let's see those bitches top this."

Never seen any of the other singers she mentioned in concert (thank god) so I can't say for sure, but I doubt that it's possible for many people to top that act. I'm so glad I got to see her live. She'll probably end up having aFor Some Reason, I Just Never Can Say Goodbye : Farewell tour a couple of years from now, but if not, it's great that I got the opportunity. I need to go to more concerts.

I just watched The Big Kahuna. How is it possible that this is the first time I've ever seen that movie?

Haven't been feeling so hot the past few days. Kind of nauseous, really tired and achy. I'm not getting my hopes up yet--more likely that it's just the wintry blahs and a touch of whatever's going around. I'm depressed--a lot more so than usual. Can't put my finger on what's wrong...everything's been going so well. I should be happy.

I want to find Alan and see if he wants to get the hell away from the house. Since I can't seem to hold a train of thought together, I think it's time for a change of scenery. The weekend's almost over, and I certainly don't have plans to watch the Superbowl. Maybe we'll head for the woods--it's not too cold out.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful