Ornamental
5:51 p.m. - 2004-12-16

Did I mention that one of my first graders got slapped with a three day suspension yesterday?

I'm not sure, and I'm not going back to look. Suffice it to say that after 4 referrals and getting kicked off the bus, the principal decided enough was enough when he punched Chucky in the side of the head. Hard. It was a "Merry Christmas to ME!" moment for sure, because the days are a hell of a lot less stressful when that kid isn't around.

We made ornaments for the kids to take home tomorrow, and I was surprised at how cute they actually turned out. I bought some cheap multicolored glass balls and let them use white paint and GLITTER!) to make five little "snowmen" handprints on them. They cupped them from the bottom and I had to reposition their fingers and make some minor touch-ups (because I'm a freakish that way and wanted them to be Pretty instead of looking like a couple of smears of paint on a cheap ornament), but it was actually pretty fun. Still have eight to finish up tomorrow, but I don't mind.

Speaking of tomorrow, it's party day, and I know it's going to be really wild around school. Alan is about to walk in the door with some dollar-store presents for the kids. That man is a saint, and I love him SO much, because he does stuff for me even though he really doesn't want to (though I generally DO have to beg, plead, and offer up something in return...)

Anyway, I need to go. I want to see what my husband's brought in for my kids. He's in the midst of pouring out his troubles to Lily right now, because she's a far better listener than me.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful