Halloween really brings out the social butterfly in me.
10:42 a.m. - 2004-10-30

Last night provided for a very interesting time, even though I had absolutely no intentions of going, and was certain that I'd be miserable and want to leave the moment we got there.

Alan borrowed a mobster costume, complete with a vintage hat and a huge cigar (those two were compliments of my father), from a guy he knows, and was without a doubt the best looking guy there. (Seriously. Everyone was having fits over how cool he looked.)

I didn't have any sort of real costume, having purchased my cool witchy one for the party tonight, so I ended up throwing together a medley of a barely shoulder length red wig (with short-short bangs), tight black pants, a black and red corset top, black blazer, and stiletto boots. The boobs were on full display--more than they've ever been before--and though I was made more than mildly uncomfortable by everyone talking to my chest, I felt somehow more confident, too. After getting good and drunk on whatever punch-y concoction (with real strawberries! and blueberries!) that the folks hosting the shindig had made, I walked up to my vet (as in, the guy who takes care of my dog, and who was at said party without his wife and was trying to be all inconspicuous in the shadows) and offered to get him a shot. By the time I turned around, he'd vanished. I'm guessing that the conversation will be a bit stilted the next time I take Lily in for her vaccinations.

I saw people that I haven't seen in years, and it seemed like every person in town showed up at some point. Even the D.A. made an appearance (and told me, while staring at my boobs, "I completely wouldn't have recognized you.")

So, yeah, it was a fun time, and I'm looking even more forward to tonight. This time we won't be crushing cigarettes out underneath our heels, but there will be a full (and very well stocked) bar, and more people that I don't know to meet and mingle with.

0 comments so far

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ links
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

I am: so very many things. A mother, a wife, a dreamer, a lover of animals and babies, a friend. I've been called a bitch, but if that's what you call someone who stands up for what they believe in and refuses to settle, then I guess the title fits.

loves: my family, horses, a full night's sleep, puppy breath, my daughter's laughter, thunderstorms, bubble baths, makeup, soft sheets, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, wine, massages, the written word, and sour straws.

dislikes: closed minds, depression, pimples, extreme heat, math, panic attacks, black licorice, doing laundry, white chocolate, gin, Bush.

feeling:
hopeful